Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-06-2013, 03:04 PM   #1 
shootingmaggots

Red face Clamped Top fin New owner

So I'm new on this site, and am a new betta owner. I got Mr. Piffles three days ago from walmart. He seems to swim around okay in his three gallon tank, but I am worried about his top fin. It looks like it may be clamped. Like I said I'm new to the game so am curious what actions I should take.

I have a thermometer in his tank the temp seems to be fine.
I feed him flakes, pellets, and sometimes blood worms.
There are three ghost shrimp just added with him.
The ph and ammonia levels appear to be fine.

He has held his fin that way since I got him.
Attached Images

shootingmaggots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:22 PM   #2 
Kbud

I don't know what to say... However, it may be natural or perhaps he had a run-in with the shrimp.... In either case, is he swimming okay? If so, he should be okay. I'm a newbie too, so I would love some verification; I'm just taking some guesses.
Kbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:03 PM   #3 
Krys

If it's sense you got him, like he had it at the store, it's probably just a harmless case of mild fin clamp from being in a stupid little cup for god knows how long. If he's swimming fine and doesn't seem to be having any problems, don't worry about it. Usually this type of fin clamp can clear up, all the bettas I've gotten that had a mild case like Mr. Piffles seems to have have always gone away.