Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-07-2013, 10:51 PM   #1 
MiyuMikaelson

Exclamation Plants growing a sign of tank health?

I've been cycling my tank for at least a week and a half now with plants in it. (I don't know if that was bad or not, just how it ended up happening. D; )

I've been giving them plant food and doing my best to cycle the aquarium without a fish in it. (Although I'm due for a shipment of RCS's in the next couple of days.) The plants are growing surprisingly quickly, particularly my Bacopa.

I just wanted to know if that meant the tank is going weeeell, or not so well? lol. This is my first time cycling a tank and I just don't want to get it wrong. I've been trying the test strips, and according to them everything's healthy and normal? But I don't know if it's cycled long enough to get a proper reading? Klaus is due here between the 16th-19th and I'd like to be sure the tank is doing well.

*spazz* Any help is welcomed and encouraged! My tank:

Last edited by MiyuMikaelson; 02-07-2013 at 11:04 PM.
MiyuMikaelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:05 PM   #2 
Kuronue

Location: Chautauqua County, NY - My mind is in my fish tank usually
Sounds like its coming along quite nicely to me. :]

While cycling a tank one is usually testing the water parameters daily and closely looking for any changes improvement or otherwise.

Plants or other fish can both help speed up the cycling process.
Kuronue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:09 PM   #3 
MiyuMikaelson

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuronue View Post
Sounds like its coming along quite nicely to me. :]

While cycling a tank one is usually testing the water parameters daily and closely looking for any changes improvement or otherwise.

Plants or other fish can both help speed up the cycling process.