Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2013, 11:07 PM   #1 
Saphira101
Member
 
Saphira101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington, United States
Question How do you drip acclimate???

Just wondering for future.........
Saphira101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:19 AM   #2 
Saphira101
Member
 
Saphira101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington, United States
Anyone?
Saphira101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:24 AM   #3 
LittleBettaFish
Member
 
LittleBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
I just run an airline tubing with a valve in it from the tank or from a bucket containing water that I want to acclimatise my fish to, and then adjust the valve so only a few drips come out per second.

I leave the fish in there for 30 minutes to an hour and then release.

Just be aware that if the fish is travelled and you open it, the pH can spike leading to a spike in ammonia, which can be bad for already fragile fish.

That is why it is recommended to add a drop of something that will detoxify ammonia (Prime for example) to the bag before acclimatising.
LittleBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:29 AM   #4 
Hadoken Kitty
Member
 
Hadoken Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.
Thank you for this post.
Hadoken Kitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:32 AM   #5 
LittleBettaFish
Member
 
LittleBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
One thing I found really useful, was suction caps that are made to hold airline tubing in place. That way you don't have to worry about it slipping free and siphoning water all over your floor.
LittleBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:35 AM   #6 
Saphira101
Member
 
Saphira101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington, United States
guess you could use tape too...
Saphira101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:37 AM   #7 
LittleBettaFish
Member
 
LittleBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Yeah. I use a rock to hold my airline tubing in place when dripping new water into my fry tanks and it works just as well.
LittleBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:42 AM   #8 
Saphira101
Member
 
Saphira101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington, United States
cool. :)
Saphira101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:51 AM   #9 
Myates
Member
 
Myates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I just purchase my drip systems lol.. I went the lazy way :P

DrsFostersmith
Myates is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Didn't Acclimate... aejh143 Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 51 01-14-2012 09:21 AM
Acclimate to water? SKA123 Betta Chat 2 09-06-2011 02:58 PM
How to Acclimate Shipped Bettas? nowzem Betta Fish Care 34 04-28-2011 12:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.