Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2013, 11:29 PM   #11 
Katmassive
New Member
 
Katmassive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by callistra View Post
Don't wait. Tap water is toxic to fish without it. What size is your tank?
i have 2 gallon
Katmassive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:33 AM   #12 
exzult
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
My tank is still cycling, but it is tap water. How do you guys feel about bettasafe? It's a tetra product.

Also, how do you know if the water is safe?
exzult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:02 AM   #13 
Katmassive
New Member
 
Katmassive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by exzult View Post
My tank is still cycling, but it is tap water. How do you guys feel about bettasafe? It's a tetra product.

Also, how do you know if the water is safe?
i know you have to test the water like i did thats all i know
Katmassive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:09 AM   #14 
eemmais
Member
 
eemmais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by exzult View Post
My tank is still cycling, but it is tap water. How do you guys feel about bettasafe? It's a tetra product.

Also, how do you know if the water is safe?
Never tried betta safe, but you can just use any water conditioner. I use API. As for cycling, is it a fish in cycle? If not, do you have a source of ammonia? The cycling process does not start until you add ammonia.
eemmais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:09 AM   #15 
LebronTheBetta
Member
 
LebronTheBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MD
The tank won't cycle if there's tap water. The BB will die because of all the added chemicals. Please do your research BEFORE you buy the fish.

ANY water conditioner is completely safe, no need to worry about the brand. Just please, save your fish. He's technically being poisoned alive right now. :l
LebronTheBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:12 AM   #16 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator
 
Perseusmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Deleted due to wrong information on product from Amazon

Last edited by Perseusmom; 02-10-2013 at 11:25 AM.
Perseusmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:16 AM   #17 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator
 
Perseusmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
By the way a 2 gallon tank is hard to cycle . You need to keep up with water changes and add the water conditioner each time you do one. Please read and use this as a water change guide.

http://www.bettafish.com/search.php?searchid=1565709
Perseusmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:16 AM   #18 
callistra
Member
 
callistra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
http://www.tetra-fish.com/sites/tetr...srvid=Aquarium

Tetra has stated 8 drops per gallon, so 16 drops in the 2g
callistra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:23 AM   #19 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator
 
Perseusmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Great job callistra for finding that, Amazon directions must have been wrong. It always pays to double check and get it straight from the website or see if the bottle has a 800 phone number in it, some do I had to call when I was using Aqueon as my water conditioner, now I use Prime.
Perseusmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:27 AM   #20 
exzult
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Calm down! lol he has lived happily in his 1 gallon for months now, he's a healthy boy, water changes twice a week.

I've been adding crushed flakes to the tank that is cycling. I also added the specified amount of conditioner for it. Is the only way to know the tank is perfectly safe for my beta without the expensive liquid kit? Tank still needs plenty of time to cycle so I'll buy it if need be, but cash is tight :s
exzult is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquasafe, cleaner

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you double dose aquasafe plus? ILLBETHEJUDGE Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 04-22-2012 10:09 AM
can I use tetra aquasafe, salt and indian magic leave all in once ? nosada Betta Fish Care 2 12-24-2010 11:59 PM
Aquasafe or Bettasafe? baylee767 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 12-19-2010 01:06 AM
Aquasafe vs Bettasafe? SmokeNLark Betta Fish Care 1 08-31-2010 02:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.