Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-13-2013, 03:16 PM   #1 
rsehnert

Dorm Room Betta Advice

Hi Everyone, I am new here but could use some advice. I am a freshman college student, and am living in an on campus dorm room on the third floor. (This is necessary for my question) I have recently gotten a Betta named Jorge (half-moon double tail from petco), and he has quickly become very dear to me. Currently he is in a 1.5 gallon tank with a black filter (carbon) and a heater. It has two small plastic plants and a little bridge. The filter drops water straight down so Jorge can swim everywhere but the very middle of the tank fairly easily, but he does spend alot of time in the corners resting on the bottom, which worries me a little.

What I would like to know is this: I would really like to have the best possible setup for Jorge, with a bigger tank and better filter/live plants maybe, but transportation (home is hours away, but is in driving distance) is an issue for me. Does anyone know of a good balance for me? Or a good tank/filter option for me that is still able to be carried down a couple flights of stairs and out to a car fairly easily? All I want is the best for my fish. He has such a personality and just loves people!
rsehnert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:27 PM   #2 
shellieca
Reference Team

Personally on a 1.5g I wouldn't bother with a filter, the smaller the volume of water the harder it is to cycle properly & too much current is usually an issue IME. While I advocate nothing less than a 5g, he'll be fine in the 1.5g so long as you keep up with the water changes properly, you can just move the 1.5g to & from school as needed.
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 06:17 PM   #3 
pittipuppylove