Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-15-2013, 07:43 PM   #1 
Lunchbox148

Buying plants tomarrow (noob)

Hello everyone! I'm going to the LFS tomorrow in hopes of replacing my silk plants with real ones. I'm very new to having plants in my aquarium I bought an "umbrella plant" from Petsmart yesterday and it seems to be doing alright... I have the mainstream sized gravel... And I bought some liquid plant food... Are there any plants you suggest? I want my 5 gallon aquarium to be very lush and full of hiding places. Do I need to implant ferts before I put the plants in, or will the liquid plant food be enough? Basicly I'm an aquarium plant noobie cryin out for help from my elders! Bless me with your experience! Thanks everyone!!!!!

Last edited by Lunchbox148; 02-15-2013 at 07:48 PM.
Lunchbox148 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:20 PM   #2 
LadyVictorian

Java fern
anubias
and moss balls are great for newcommers of the plant world and I have had a LOT of luck with them.
LadyVictorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:35 PM   #3 
sarahspins

If you consider getting java fern and anubias, don't plant the rhizome under the substrate, just the roots, otherwise you might kill the plant. They also do really well tied to wood or rocks.

Wisteria grew REALLY well for me in my low-tech tanks.. so much so that I trimmed it back heavily and removed most of it.
sarahspins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:06 PM   #4 
Silverfang

If you buy stem plants, or crypts, look for ones with nice healthy roots.

If you get a crypt or a sword you will have initial die off of some of the leaves. It's normal.
Silverfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:18 PM   #5 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator