Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2013, 04:11 PM   #21 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Three days is early yet. Next dose, put it right into your filter.

Put a bead or a piece of gravel into your Safestart bottle. Turns it into a "rattle can" for better easier mixing.

You can do that to your #2 nitrate bottle, too.
Hallyx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:13 PM   #22 
White Mage
Member
 
White Mage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by JessJesting View Post
I have heard of Tetra Safestart but I am leery of buying things like that. Has anyone had any personal experience with it?
I have! My sister had 5 fish in a 1.7gal tank( we were new to fish keeping), we took the water to test at Petsmart and everything was severely high. We bought a 5.5gal tank along with the small bottle of Safestart as they recommended. ($13, but VERY WORTH IT) We put all the old stuff in the new tank along with some new gravel and plants, then we put the fish in, and added the entire bottle of SafeStart like the instructions said. The next morning, Nitrates were at around 3.0 and ammonia and nitrites were 0!!! We have not had any spikes of ammonia or nitrites AT ALL! They have been 0 ever since. (been about 3 weeks now) Her fish are all happy and healthy too (Well, after we got rid of the mollies parasites, which we had to treat the entire tank just in case. The cycle was never affected amazingly):D

Basically, the SafeStart cycled the tank overnight, lol.


Also I just read you bought it, you probably don't have nitrates because you didn't add the fish yet. :P The plants are eating the nitrates. I think it's safe to say you're cycled!

Last edited by White Mage; 02-25-2013 at 04:17 PM.
White Mage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:16 PM   #23 
Otterfun
Member
 
Otterfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekkguy View Post
Not entirely true ... 0 nitrates are common when you have plants. Nitrates are plant food!
ok, thanks for clarifying. so you can have all three zeros in the test results?
Will 0 ammonia & nitrite and 10-20 nitrate mean I need more plants to take care of the nitrates?
Otterfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:19 PM   #24 
JessJesting
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ohio
So should I wait a few more days and see how it goes? Or buy another bottle?

Thanks for the tips. =) After I dumped it in I thought maybe I should have added it directly to the filter... Well now I know lol.
JessJesting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:24 PM   #25 
White Mage
Member
 
White Mage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
1 Bottle of SafeStart should be plenty. I think it's ok to add fish... You need ammonia in there to keep the bacteria alive, 1 rotting shrimp might not be enough. Especially with the plants eating ammo too.


Also I think it's better to put the SafeStart NOT in the filter, so it settles on the gravel/plants as well as getting sucked in the filter.

Last edited by White Mage; 02-25-2013 at 04:31 PM.
White Mage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:38 PM   #26 
JessJesting
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ohio
Im worried because there isnt any ammonia in the tank it seems. I have the liquid test kit and it hardly changed any color.
JessJesting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:41 PM   #27 
ao
TFK Moderator
 
ao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
well usually with plants... having no ammonia in the tank is quite normal, lol
I see across the board zeros when testing my ammonia Nitrite and nitrates. XD
ao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:45 PM   #28 
JessJesting
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ohio
So wait your tank reads zeros all across too? Sooo should I even worry? lol Im just paranoid by nature. And I would feel awful it something happened to the little guy...
JessJesting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:51 PM   #29 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Unless you see nitrate, you never really know if your tank is cycled.

Most plants prefer ammonia first. They eat nitrate last. If you have enough plants, your nitrogen cycle will diminish and die from lack of food. You then have a NPT (natural planted tank).
Hallyx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:59 PM   #30 
JessJesting
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ohio
The fish can survive in there, yes? If not, what should I do? =/

Sorry for all the questions and thanks for your patience. Much appreciated.
JessJesting is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycling 5 gallon and 10 gallon tanks Roemgie Betta Fish Care 38 01-22-2013 01:44 PM
Cycling a 2.5 gallon Freyja Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 8 07-01-2012 03:41 PM
Cycling a 55 gallon? Betta311 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 9 09-22-2011 03:37 PM
10 gallon cycling help? kathstew Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 16 04-09-2011 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.