Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-17-2013, 07:05 PM   #1 
Charley

Filter?

Hey I am new to Betta Fish and fish in general and I was wondering do I really need a filter. I have a 5.5 gallon tank with a heater. It is not divided and I only have one Betta fish and that is all I plan on owning. I have had Sheldon for more than two months and he seems to be doing just fine but I was wondering should I get a filter. What are the perks of having one and will it make him happier? Also I have no problem with cleaning his tank, I actually think it's sort of fun. Thanks!
Charley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 06:14 AM   #2 
Crowntails

He needs a filter. It keeps the water clean and reduces the waste build up in your tank.
Crowntails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:15 AM   #3 
shellieca
Reference Team

A filter is not a necessity if your keeping the water clean through water changes &/or live plants.
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:53 PM   #4 
Charley

Current Strength?

Alright so I got a filter, the Tetra Whisper 3i. I have just installed it and he seems to like the current, but I was wondering how strong should the current be? I have a dimmer that I used for his heater when he was in a smaller tank and I have the filter hooked up to it now. So basically I can control the speed of the current. So how fast should it be? Thanks again!
Old 02-18-2013, 04:27 PM   #5 
Oldfishlady

IMO/E-Filters are optional for this species-especially with the Long fin males since the water current can sometimes be the cause of fin damage and stress.