Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-21-2013, 11:40 AM   #1 
jadaBlu

Preventing siphon accidents during water change

I bought a siphon I've never used one before. I had fish tank years ago(not bettas) when I changed the water I always did 100% changes and rinsed the gravel. I used a pond pump to empty and stuck my fish in another container. I gather that is not the thing to do. I read that it's best to leave your fish in the tank while doing the partial change. However, I read on fish emergencies that some sucked up their betta into the siphon and it severely injured the fish. Some I am wondering if I could put cheese cloth with a rubber band over the siphon and still get a clean tank or somehow add protection to prevent this. It should not happen as I made sure to locate both of my tanks next to a sink (bathroom and kitchen) so water changes would be very easy.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 01:18 PM   #2 
OrangeAugust

You could put pantyhose over the opening. If you have live plants this might not get the tank as clean as you want it because you won't be able to suck up much plant debris. But if you don't have any live plants, I think it will do the job.
OrangeAugust is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:03 PM   #3 
Otterfun

Quote:
Originally Posted by jadaBlu View Post