Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-22-2013, 12:10 AM   #1 
MomaDragonfly

Red face Need advice please

Im new to this page and new to owing a Betta. I was like most other people thinking they could be kept in a small bowl. My betta has been living in a 1 gallon bowl for three days now. It seemed very unhappy (don't know the sex, as I don't know how to tell the difference) I opted for an ungrade and purchased a Tetra 5 Gal tank that came with a "whisper mirco filter". Im not sure how to proceed next with the tank transition. I also got two plants.. A banana plant and not sure what the other is but its rooted plant, bought from the local pet store. Also, a aqua clear heater 25 watts. I filled the tank with water treated with drops to illimnate any bad stuff in the tap water and tank has been running on the third out of 4th power setting. I don't know what to do next. The petstore did say that I should put the entires gallon from the bowl the betta is in now into the new tank. But how should I do the temp change from the two, I don't want to shock or harm the Betta. Also, I don't know anything about the filter and am afraid after reading some things online it may harm the fish by sucking it in or it getting trapped agaisnt it. Anyone, please help a new comer to the wonderful world of Bettas. Thanks so much!!!
MomaDragonfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:26 AM   #2 
veggiegirl

Hey there,