Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-23-2013, 12:02 PM   #1 
Ramla

Help a Friend's Betta!

Alrighty so currently my friend's Betta is not well. So I said I would post on here for her, for your guys' advice, since I am no expert with fish diseases. Though going through the threads of diseases, initial diagnoses was a swim bladder issue. However they have been giving treatment for a week or so now I believe and he is still the same.

Today I had them set him up in a smaller container, so it would be easier to treat him.

But also because it is my friend's fish I am not positive on all of the parameters.
Housing
What size is your tank? 1 Gallon
What temperature is your tank? Unknown, but no heater :/
Does your tank have a filter? No
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? Yes
Is your tank heated? No
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Flakes, unsure of what kind
How often do you feed your betta fish? Unsure, however, she said her room mate likely overfed him. And they say he hasn't eaten for the past week.

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change? Unknown
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? Unknown
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? BettaSafe

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters? No

Ammonia:
Nitrite:
Nitrate:
pH:
Hardness:
Alkalinity:

Symptoms and Treatment