Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2013, 11:36 PM   #1 
Sparrowhawk
Member
 
Sparrowhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
D.i.y. Co2?

Just wondering if a DIY CO2 system is worth creating in a 4 gallon planted tank if using moderate light and already dosing with API's liquid CO2 Booster and supplementing nutrients with Flourish + root tabs for stems. It's not really an urgent question, just a thing I've been thinking about.

Sparrowhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 12:21 AM   #2 
ao
TFK Moderator
 
ao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
without any high light plants.. probably not XD
ao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 12:27 AM   #3 
Sparrowhawk
Member
 
Sparrowhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by aokashi View Post
without any high light plants.. probably not XD
SWEEEEET. Was desperately hoping that'd be the answer.

Spend sooo much time trying to figure out if there's something more I should be doing, and then that occurred to me, and so I started thinking, "Oh no, every surface available is already full of fish/plant care stuff, where would I put that as well?!"

Thanks. XD
Sparrowhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 12:34 AM   #4 
ao
TFK Moderator
 
ao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
lol! yeah.. i find spending stuff on fishie products is addictive. and then I realize.. huh, i didnt even need that!
ao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 12:38 AM   #5 
polukoff
Member
 
polukoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
Only reason it is worth it would be to grow plants faster and sell off your trimmings.
polukoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 12:39 AM   #6 
polukoff
Member
 
polukoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
Also is a good way to fight algae blooms.
polukoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 01:32 AM   #7 
Aluka
Member
 
Aluka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston, MA
i dont really bother with Co2 unless its a 10 gal +, i just dose with excel on the smaller ones
Aluka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:00 AM   #8 
louisvillelady
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Just a word of precaution, in a 4 gallon, I would worry about too much CO2 displacing the oxygen. If you have alot of fish or other live inhabitants, just keep an eye on them the first day to make sure its not too much. With plenty of plants, the plants will change it over, but you never know. I use a homemade CO2 myself, and saw a big difference in a short time! Posts pics if you can, would love to see the progress!
louisvillelady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 03:10 PM   #9 
Crowntails
Member
 
Crowntails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Connecticut
I'd just dose with the root tabs and Excel.
Crowntails is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.