Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Other Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2013, 05:35 PM   #1 
Tropical
Member
 
Tropical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The United States of America!
Talking Here we go again! :)

I've made it a year without obsessing over getting a new tank...until today. :) I got a 10 gallon tank a while ago and when I did, it was a toss-up between what fish to put in it. I opted for tropical fish. Well, I have always liked black moors (I like big fish :D ) and I literally cannot fit another tank and stand into my room, so I thought maybe I could put it on my dresser. It is solid wood, so I would think it would be okay. I just wouldn't want it to start to bow under all that weight. :) Anyone ever do this before?
Tropical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 05:54 PM   #2 
djembekah
Member
 
djembekah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Washington
10 Gallons is far too small for any goldfish sadly :(
Posted via Mobile Device
djembekah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:01 PM   #3 
Tropical
Member
 
Tropical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The United States of America!
Quote:
Originally Posted by djembekah View Post
10 Gallons is far too small for any goldfish sadly :(
Posted via Mobile Device
I really don't think so, and not to seem rude here, but that is not what I am having a question about.
Tropical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:05 PM   #4 
lilnaugrim
Reference Team
 
lilnaugrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Rhode Island
As long as it's solid wood that's fine! On my tall dresser I have my 10 gallon and a 3 gallon and so far so good!
lilnaugrim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:08 PM   #5 
Tropical
Member
 
Tropical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The United States of America!
Oh! Excellent! :) This make me so excited! :D
Tropical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:44 PM   #6 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Well, since you are asking in a fish care forum, I feel obligated to tell you that 10 gallons will not keep a goldfish alive and happy. 20 gallons for one, 30 for two... Its really not about what you think, it's about what's good for the fish. A filled ten gallon is 100lbs, and with gravel etc its probably 110-120. Sit on your dresser, does it feel sturdy?
MattsBettas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:56 PM   #7 
Tropical
Member
 
Tropical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The United States of America!
@MattsBettas: have u ever had a goldfish?
Tropical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:06 PM   #8 
WolfHhowling
Member
 
WolfHhowling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Carrolltown Pa In good old cambria county
Ten gallon really isn't good for a gold fish. I had several of them. They die short lives. They will only live two years at max in a ten, provided you do water changes once a week.

Because all Gold fish produce more ammonia and nitrates then other fish. Thus the higher gallon per fish with these guys. You would eventually kill him with a slow and painful ammonia induced death....

Think tiny cup with walmart Betta..... That are slowly dieing because of there cruel conditions....

As for the stand, sure. Mine is a solid Oak night stand, it holds a ten gallon fish tank quite nicely.

If you like Large fish, but only want a ten gallon. Upsidedown catfish get 4 inches and min is a ten. also a male dwarf Gourami is also a min of ten.
WolfHhowling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:21 PM   #9 
Elsewhere
Member
 
Elsewhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
My two dressers successfully hold one ten gallon each, and they aren't even solid wood! I think yours would be fine, but I agree with the "sit on it" statement :)
Elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:46 PM   #10 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Yes, I have.
MattsBettas is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.