Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-03-2013, 01:40 PM   #1 
percyfyshshelley

Hello! From Canada.

Hi! Been lurking for a while and finally joined a few days ago. I have learned so much from this forum and I love being part of a community that cares so much about fish and animals.
Here's my story... So I'm new to bettas. I got my first betta, Jacques Cousteau, about a year ago. Sadly, he succumbed to dropsy after about six months. I think I did everything right.... I still blame myself though. Wish I had know about this forum back then.
Well, his 4 gal tank still had live plants in it, so I just kept it running, topping it off as needed but not adding due chlorinate or checking water parameters or anything like that. I planned to get another fish eventually. Well, I went away for a week and had a friend (who has fish herself) taking care of my bunny rabbit, Snow. She thought it would be nice to buy me a new betta and when I came home there was Posiden, a blue CT, in the tank! I was a little horrified as the water had not been conditioned and I had no idea what the parameters were, but he seemed fine. Sigh. Hopefully most of the chlorine had dissipated over time before he was put in there. I did take him out and recycled the tank so all is good now.
Well, over the next few months I made several trips to various pet stores to get supplies, and found myself leaving with a fish most times. I gather from this forum that I am not the only one who this happens to. Now I have 10.
Oh, have I mentioned I'm single and have no children? Lol.
Well here the are, I love each and every one of them. (I may not have all the colors right but this is what I think they are.) All tanks have heaters and thermometers. I do regular water changes on the uncylced ones. I am not doing any fish-in cycles.