Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-03-2013, 06:20 PM   #1 
Vendria

Black Mollys?

Good Afternoon Betta Forum :)

I am very new to fish keeping. Two days ago I got a Betta fish. It was sort of a random purchase because I had always wanted a fish and one of my cats is 15 years old and can't move around much anymore and needs abit of enrichment. The Petsmart lady told me I could keep them in one of those small Betta keepers. I thought I was being nice and bought my Beta a 1 gallon tank.

However, after I brought him home I did some research and saw that it was not enough space for my new Betta. I figured within a week or two I would peruse craigslist and find a tank someone just wants to get rid of... somewhere in the 10-30 gallon range. Something to fit on my desk, etc.

Well the thing is I just don't have a sweet 15 yr old cat. I also have a 15lbs Norweigan Forest Cat (Google it) male who is tons of fun and lots of trouble. He was interested in the 1 Gallon tank and in the middle of the night he knocked it over and almost got my Fish!

So the Beta fish went back into his cup and when the morning rolled around I went to Petco and spent way to much money on a 10 gallon tank with a filter and heater. I have a few hiding spots and a couple of artifical plants but plan on adding a few live plants.

NOW here is where the black mollys come into play. I went to a fish store because 1 fish in a 10 gallon tank doesn't look too impressive on my desk. I saw tetras and these black mollys that had a Betta in the tank with them, and the fish store Betta looked just fine. I ended up buying 4 Black Mollys and they seem pretty engrossed with themselves to be bothered with the Betta.