Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-05-2013, 10:26 AM   #1 
DizzyD

synthetic Mopani Driftwood question

I wasn't sure whether to put this in the Accessories section or the Planted aquarium section so it this is the wrong section I appoligize.

My question is; will anubius and other plants that grow on hardscaping items grow on the synthetic mopani driftwood that petco sells or not?
DizzyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 10:31 AM   #2 
shellieca

It probably depends how porous it is. Natural wood is porous giving the roots a place to attach. I'm no expert on this but that's how I see it.
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 10:35 AM   #3 
DizzyD

That is what I figured, but I can not find the answer anywhere. I was hoping that someone on here has tried it before.
Old 03-05-2013, 10:40 AM   #4 
DizzyD

I actually can't even find it on Petco's site, but I swear when I was there the other day they had 3 different sizes of fake mopani driftwood. They didn't have any of the real stuff, but they do on their site.
Old 03-05-2013, 10:52 AM   #5 
Tabbie82

I ordered some of Petco's mopani fake driftwood from the website last week. I got an email a few days ago saying it was backordered and then a second email saying it was no longer available. I don't know if this means they won't sell it anymore, but it may be why you can't find it online. I don't know that it would be porous enough for a plant to attach to. I have one and the surface on it is pretty smooth. I don't see how the plant would attach, but I haven't tried. Maybe someone has?
Tabbie82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 10:58 AM   #6 
tekkguy

If they are resin just like other aquarium ornaments, it won't attach. You'd be better off attaching it to a small piece of real wood, and stuffing that into a hole or tying it to the fake one.