Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-07-2013, 10:46 PM   #1 
Nicci Lu

Super Green Food Mishap

I'm going to ask the betta nutrition experts if eating Repashy Super Green will make my betta sick. But first, I gotta tell the story because it's kinda funny.

I got Super Green for my otos. I've never used gel food before, I think I boiled it too long because it got really lumpy and thick. My idea was to paint it on a rock, but I ended up putting on a really thick layer. I don't know what I was thinking- hungry, hungry otos, maybe?

So, when I put it in the tank, the water swelled the Super Green even more. A few chunks came loose. 5 minutes went by, and no otos came to check it out. But then comes my big galoot of a betta, who decides that he should be able to eat anything in his tank. He took 3 or 4 big bites. But, does he take nice, little bites? Oh no, not my betta. Adorable Fish comes plowing through it, fins flapping, tail wagging. Now, I've got Super Green floating everywhere. My otos are going crazy, their little suckermouths working overtime, they think they've died and gone to oto heaven because there's this nice algae stuff on nearly all the surfaces of the tank. They decide to form a cult worshiping the big blue god with the over-sized fins who makes food fall from the sky.

Heh, just made that last part up.

Adorable Fish has suffered no ill effects after eating the Super Green. He is now entertaining himself by periodically taking bites and spitting it out. What I'm worried about is that I'll be going away for two days. Adorable Fish will have to do without and I had planned on leaving the otos Super Green in the tank. I'm afraid that in the absence of food, His Pigginess will gorge himself on the Super Green.

You think it will make him sick? These are the ingredients: