Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-11-2013, 11:13 PM   #1 
NHBettaGirl

Question Shipped in Betta care

Hello, my bettas are arriving next week from Thailand. This is my first time shipping in bettas is there anything special I should do for them after arrival? I'm aware about acclimating and all but is there anything they should be treated with to help with the stress? My water already has AmQuel and NovAqua in it and the tanks have been cycled with quick start and some plants and snails. Please let me know what else I need so I can get it or order it before they arrive. Thanks!
NHBettaGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:19 PM   #2 
Hadoken Kitty

Acclimating for imported fish will be dramatically different than normal acclimation. You will need to do a drip acclimation. Is this the acclimation that you're referring to? Also, IAL helps to have on hand, as most Thai imported fish have heavy tannins from IAL.
Hadoken Kitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:28 PM   #3 
NHBettaGirl

Nope I'm not sure what a drip acclimation is or IAL for that matter *blush*, these are my first Bettas from Thailand and I am pretty new to the whole thing, this will be my first time breeding bettas, just kept as pets in the past.
Old 03-11-2013, 11:32 PM   #4 
NHBettaGirl

Okay, looked up IAL and found the Indian Almond Leaves, also found this product http://www.amazon.com/Ocean-Nutritio...+Almond+Leaves Any thoughts on that?
Old 03-11-2013, 11:40 PM   #5 
ZubinBetta