Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-12-2013, 11:27 AM   #1 
meinsk

Sick fish?? Not sure...

I just got this male crowntail a couple of days ago and he has not seemed right ever since I got him (see more info about him in this thread: http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=131303). This is the first betta I have ever owned (and first fish ever, aside from some guppies about 35 years ago!), so I'm very new at this and still learning how all of this works.

He was not in the best shape when we got him. The water in his cup was yellow and had lots of stuff floating in it, so I bought him in the hopes of getting him better. (We also bought another crowntail at the same time from another store, and that one is doing great.) Optimus is in a 2.5 Aqueon mini bow tank with an Aqueon mini bow filter (just plugged in the filter yesterday - didn't want to stress him out too much at first. I baffled it with a plastic straw since the flow was pretty strong). His water temp is 78F and he has a bridge and a couple of silk plants in his tank, as well as a Betta hammock leaf. I originally added BettaSafe water conditioner, but his NH3 was at 0.2 on Sunday, so I did a 25% water change. On Monday the NH3 was still at 0.2, so I did a 100% water change and added Seachem Prime to his water. His water seems to get slightly cloudy within a day or two - looks a tiny bit cloudy today already.