Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2013, 02:29 AM   #1 
xShainax
Member
 
xShainax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Glens Falls NY
Play sand?

Is it true I can use play sand as a substrate?
xShainax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 09:32 AM   #2 
tekkguy
Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Yes. You need to rinse it really well.

Put the sand in a bucket, shove your water hose into the sand, and turn it on. Swish it around a lot, and let the bucket overflow for a while. Once the water runs clear, even with a swish, it's rinsed well enough. What happens is the smaller particles will float in the running water, up out of the bucket, while the larger ones will not.

Pool filter sand is a better option, and sometimes even cheaper. Because it's filter sand, it barely needs any rinsing.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 03:45 PM   #3 
Dene
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: California
I use pool filter sand because I heard it is better than play sand because it has less extra stuff in it. xP I bought 20 grade (didn't even know what that meant at the time) and got it at Leslie's for $10. It was a 50 pound bag, so it will go a long way. I also bought a 5 gallon bucket at WalMart for $3 and used that to thoroughly rinse the sand.

I've heard it can be really white sometimes, but mine is a mixture of browns and I like the look of it.
Dene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 07:45 PM   #4 
Blue Fish
Member
 
Blue Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: East Tennessee
I tried pool filter sand, did the rinsing...and it still just about killed my filters and NEVER would uncloud. I must have been doing something wrong...but for the life of me I couldn't figure it out.
Pool filter sand is cheap and readily available, so go for it. Hopefully you'll have better luck! :)
Blue Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.