Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-13-2013, 10:19 PM   #1 
ptps

Unhappy Self-harming Betta )':

I'm completely new to owning fish, but did my fair share of reading for a month before purchasing my pet. I bought Fish (yes, creative) about a month and a half ago. He's a beautiful Mustard Gas Super Delta, although Petsmart sold him as a Halfmoon. I have a heated but unfiltered 2.5G, with a live Java Fern, one column-like decoration and some non-pH altering river rocks. I do my WC at 50% every half week and 90% every week. This is what happened in the last two weeks in a nutshell:

1st month:
Fine and Dandy! Really pleased I kept him so well.
2nd month 1st week Day 1: Bought a small 3-day Vacation Block to test it out.
Day 3:
He didn't touch the food and it clouded the water really bad. Took out the block and did a 50% change. Noticed a little rippling effect on his tail fin but thought nothing of it since it often looks that way when he isn't flaring.
Day 4: Tail ripped completely in half, clean, not frayed. Immediately did 90% change with salt and observed him. Suspected split due to water issues.
Day 6: Tail healing slowly, not completely in half anymore but fraying a little at the edges.
Week 2 Day 1: Tail fraying more. Confused. Suspect catching on something in the tank. Checked over his tank to make sure he wasn't snagging on anything, took out the decoration he's had since I got him since I felt a suspicious pointy part on where he normally "sits" on it.
Week 2 Day 2: Today. Got home and... BAM. Half the top of his magnificent tail completely gone. Dorsal fin also shredded. Fraying EVERYWHERE. No bits of fin on the floor. Tail showing signs of bloody ends. Final Diagnosis: Tail biter!