Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2013, 07:39 PM   #21 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
good luck with the upgrade :)
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:13 PM   #22 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Thanks. I'm really excited. I just got done dry fitting. I need aquarium silicone before installing. My lid gets a lot of condensation.

Last edited by kyle89; 03-31-2013 at 08:15 PM.
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:56 PM   #23 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
So I take it that it came in already? I ran mine about 4 days before sealing the ends with no problems. I was too excited not to try them out.

The only thing I am going to do now is upgrade the power supply. Not only am I running the strip I am running the factory LED pods on the small wall wort that came with the strip. I have noticed that the lights are not as bright so I have a more robust PS I want to try.
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:06 PM   #24 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Yeah. They came Sunday! I have exposed wire an a lot of condensation on the hood I would rather be safe than sorry. Do tell about the power source upgrade!
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:20 PM   #25 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I 'aquired' several power supplies while working at my old job. They output both 12vdc and 5vdc. I have three of them and they are rated at 1500mA, 2000mA and 3500mA.

I am going to start out with the 1500mA and see how it goes. The one PS that came with the strip is rated for 1000mA
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:30 PM   #26 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Hmmmm. Not very electronic savy but I'm interested. Let me know how it goes man!
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:35 PM   #27 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
will do. Keep an eye on your lights too. If they start to dim you can probably find a more powerful wall wort on ebay. I hold on to things and have about 15+ wall worts in a box in my garage. Never know when you might need one.
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:39 PM   #28 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Any suggestion on what size wall wort. I have a few too
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:47 PM   #29 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
12VDC and greater than a 1000mA output. Just make sure it DOES NOT say 12VAC that will destroy the LED's since they are not rated for AC.
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:50 AM   #30 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
My tank in the beginning with one small led

My tank with a temporary 80 dollar 8000k stunner led setup

My tank now with 3 feet of 6500k 4 wat LEDs off eBay
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to upgrade Ramla Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 1 11-21-2012 01:54 PM
10 gallon lighting upgrade! DanMarion Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 11 05-06-2010 10:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.