Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2013, 05:37 PM   #41 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Great job guys. Don't forget before pictures to see how your plants are reacting to the new lights. Hopefully tonight I can upgrade my PS for the lights.
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:45 PM   #42 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Can't wait too see picks of updated power source
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:53 PM   #43 
wallywestisthebest333
Member
 
wallywestisthebest333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Currently East Coast
Hey there! Sorry if this is a bother or anything but for some reason no matter how many times I reload this thread the pictures wont show up.
Is there a way you could link to the pictures?
wallywestisthebest333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:34 AM   #44 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
@kyle89
Wasn't able to get PS upgrade accomplished and tonight I will probably be doing a vacuum because of the snails

@wallywestisthebest333
Are you looking for my pictures or everyone else's? A lot of people have all the pictures in their photo albums. Just click on the username and go to view public profile. On the right hand side you will see links to their photo albums. Here are mine

http://www.bettafish.com/picture.php...ictureid=35987
http://www.bettafish.com/picture.php...ictureid=35988
http://www.bettafish.com/picture.php...ictureid=35989
http://www.bettafish.com/picture.php...ictureid=35984
http://www.bettafish.com/picture.php...ictureid=35985
http://www.bettafish.com/picture.php...ictureid=35986
http://www.bettafish.com/picture.php?albumid=5642&pictureid=39441
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:49 AM   #45 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
No problem man an I have a album called led upgrade that has all of my pictures
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:40 PM   #46 
marktrc
Member
 
marktrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: oahu, hawaii
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekkguy View Post
I just bought this the other day to upgrade the lighting on one of these. I was too lazy to get the strips you have to cut, though I'm not sure these LEDs are 6500k.

I did get a http://www.creativelightings.com/Sam...frs-sample.htm to light a bubble gum machine that I'm turning into a small planted tank. Can't wait to get that project finished!
how do you know what power supply you need and where do you get it? this looks slightly easier then the one you cut.
marktrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:29 AM   #47 
tekkguy
Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by marktrc View Post
how do you know what power supply you need and where do you get it? this looks slightly easier then the one you cut.
It requires a 12V power supply. The amps aren't nearly as important, though the higher the amps, the more light it can support. I've got mine on a 12V/2A adapter for testing. I haven't installed them yet, but I'd guess I could easily run up to 6 of these on 2A. I haven't stuck a multimeter on it yet after it passes through the strand.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 03:31 PM   #48 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Sorry for the lack of updates. I updated my PS but didn't notice any brightness change. My wife says since I look it at so much that I may not see the difference. The PS does run cooler since it is more robust than the wall wart that came with the strip. I will post some pics of my plants later tonight.
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 05:19 PM   #49 
marktrc
Member
 
marktrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: oahu, hawaii
so your ps is now a 12vdc 1.5a?
marktrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:58 PM   #50 
InfiniteGlory
Member
 
InfiniteGlory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
yes, that is correct. It can be confusing since some label it as 1500mA which is saying the same thing as 1.5 A. I do have two other PS's that are capable of 2A and 3.5A. So I can always put in a lot more light if needed

And here is the picture that I promised a few days ago. I know its time to trim the anacharis again and I have some plants coming in the mail from another member.

April 17


April 18
InfiniteGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to upgrade Ramla Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 1 11-21-2012 01:54 PM
10 gallon lighting upgrade! DanMarion Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 11 05-06-2010 10:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.