Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-15-2013, 09:50 PM   #1 
samwise0311

Exclamation Worried about my female Betta Fish

Hi There! I'm brand new to this thread, though I've spend the past several days reading through other peoples' posts about their Betta fish. I recently acquired two female Betta fish. They are the first fish I've had since my childhood, so I really came into it clueless. I went and got them on a whim b/c my daughter asked me for her own fish that she could name "Tuna." When I got to PetSmart, they told me that the female bettas could live together peacefully, so I decided to go with getting two female bettas. I was also told, that I could put them both into a 1 gallon tank...but I'm definitely realizing now that I need to acquire a large tank for them soon. The moment I have the money to do that, I will be doing that. So, anyway, as I said, even though I am a veterinary technician and an animal rescuer, I was clueless about fish. After having them in an unfiltered, unheated one gallon tank with 2 fake plants and one real one, I realized that i needed to get a filter and a heater for their tank to keep them healthy and happy. I bought the filter a few days ago, and I am getting the heater for the tank this weekend. I've done one 100% water change on the tank, the day before I bought the whisper filter, and today I did a 50% change on the tank after a few fish-knowledgeable friends of mine let me know that I am not supposed to 100% water changes often at all. Anyway, what I am concerned about is my daughter's Betta, "Tuna." She was fine the first day or so that we had her, but after that, I noticed that she would not eat. She still hasn't eaten, not even once, since the day we got her, over a week and a half ago. Then, about two days ago, I started to notice that she had some red coloring showing up. After doing tons of resea