Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-16-2013, 11:07 PM   #1 
osromatra

My new females: all in QT

Hubby gifted me with a Marineland 20G kit, and today I went ahead and got my bettas. I am going to do a sorority. They will have 3 mollies for tankmates. So far, 5 bettas. I had six, but one, my most favorite, died on the way home. I knew she was probably a lost cause, already as big as a marble, but hoped I could treat her with ES, fasting, and clean water. She didn't even make it halfway home. It's a 30 minute drive. I mentioned her bloating at checkout and they gave me a discount of $5. So I basically got her free plus a buck off the rest. At least I tried. I am taking pics and tests of her water and lodging another complaint with Pco, which is my third time.

Anyway, on to the survivors. None of them, in my estimation, appear too ill to save. I'm a student nurse, almost ready to graduate, so I went full on nurse-mode and gave them all an assessment. I want help making sure i am treating them as much as possible for their individual needs. All got 1G containers with conditioned water with: Stress Coat per instructions, plus 1/4 dose extra, blackwater extract (tannins) per instructions, and Aq salt (1 Tbsp to 5 gallon). I added them in slowly, adding a small amount of new water every 5-10 minutes, over the course of an hour. I offered each 2 NLS pellets, presoaked, except for the one who is bloated. She I offered one- she isn't extremely bloated, just noticeable. Unfortunately, I couldn't afford to do heaters for them but I've bumped the heat up in the house. Their water is currently at 78*. They are each in a 1G container and will get 2 WC daily (100% in the morning, 50% in the evening) or more, if I test it and it's bad (over 0.25, and I use the liquid API kit). Anyway, onto the patients!

------------