Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2008, 02:55 PM   #1 
King of Candlesticks
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Putting Rocks in Betta tank, can I put a couple from outside

Can I put rocks from outside in my new 3 gallon? only a couple cool looking ones... If so how do I prep them?
King of Candlesticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 03:04 PM   #2 
paws
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
yes you can you just have to boil them in boiling hot water before you do. to kill off the bacteria and germs. Also don't wash them with saop. You will kill the fish with what is in the soap.
paws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 04:05 PM   #3 
SST
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Carolina
Don't boil them as they can explode. There's a stickie about how to do that around here somewhere. Take a look around for it.

You can also soak the rocks in a mild bleach solution, then rinse, rinse, rinse. Let dry. If it still smells like bleach, rinse, rinse, rinse some more and repeat.
SST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 04:06 PM   #4 
SST
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Carolina
Here's the stickie on boiling rocks

http://www.fishforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=8678
SST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 04:47 PM   #5 
paws
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
oh yeah forgot! lol sorry.
paws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 10:58 PM   #6 
okiemavis
Member
 
okiemavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boston, MA
You can clean it with either vinegar or a bleach solution. Just make sure to rinse A LOT after with fresh water.
okiemavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 12:31 AM   #7 
Falina
Member
 
Falina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Instead of boiling (which you shouldn't) you can pour boiling water over them, or bake them in the oven.
Falina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 01:19 PM   #8 
paws
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I was wondering also if I could put a shell that I found on the beach could I put into my betta's tank or should I rinse it with vinigar?
paws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 06:10 PM   #9 
SST
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Carolina
Certainly, you can put it in. Just clean it first (no detergent, though.)
SST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 06:46 PM   #10 
okiemavis
Member
 
okiemavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boston, MA
I'm pretty sure shells do change water parameters. I can't remember if it is gh or kh that is effected, and it may not be much, but that's something to be aware of.
okiemavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie, a couple of questions, brand new tank, water etc, but betta isn't eating TokyoBetta Betta Fish Care 12 01-19-2010 11:45 PM
Putting betta with fish gadget Betta Fish Compatibility 8 12-19-2009 08:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.