Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-20-2013, 07:10 PM   #1 
jana63

Exclamation Oh, gosh, I need help!

Hello, I visited this forum about 3 years ago and found everyone very nice and helpful. I haven't had fish in several years, so I'm a newbie, and I'm in a bind!

I have rescued 10 fish (two bettas). The betas were each in a 1.5 gallon vase with 4 other fish. So 5 fish in each vase! Ugh! There was a makeshift sort of water pump in each (constructed with a straw and butter tub lid all hot glued together). Didn't seem like a very good environment to me!! I couldn't believe the fish survived!

There are 2 betta fish, 3 Danios (pretty small), 3 Mollies (a little smaller than the bettas), and two golden loach fish (each about 3 inches long!).

Okay, so temporarily, I have transferred them into 2 regular tanks (they are filtered, nice and new, but each is only 2.5 gallons). So still, I have 5 fish in each tank (1 betta, 3 danios, and 1 golden loach) and (1 betta, 3 mollies, and 1 golden loach).

This is not good! I've had them for two days - and they seem happy - all eating and swimming, and they don't even really look stressed at all, which I think is weird for what they've been through, but I'm counting my blessings! However, I can't allow this cramped living space for very long.

I have a 3rd 2.5 gallon tank that I bought, and I'm thinking of exchanging it for a 5 gallon tank (that would be all I could afford at this point).

So my thought is to leave each betta in it's own 2.5 galloon tank, and transfer all 3 danios and 3 mollies and 2 golden loach into the 5 gallon tank. I know that's 8 fish in the tank, but that's all I can think of. Do you think the Bettas can handle having one golden loach each in their 2.5 tank, or maybe one of the litter ones? I'm just trying to spread around the real estate a bit, but I just don't have the money for anything more.