Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2013, 10:15 PM   #1 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
Help with my switch to soil!

Finally making the switch from clown-puke gravel over to an NPT!

I've been wanting to do this for a longgg time now, but I finally just got enough of everything collected to be able to get it started.


Here's my question.
Should I rinse the soil like I will with the sand? -OR- Should I just pick out the large clumps in it, maybe dampen it a little, and do it that way?


I ended up going with both organic potting mix and organic top soil, I figured that I could just mix the two together and that way I could stretch the use of it out.
I also went with black diamond sand blasting sand, 30/60 grit, which says "fine" on it, so I'm hoping it'll be fine for the cories.


If anyone has any advice on how to make this switch as fast as possible, please let me know!
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:08 PM   #2 
lilyth88
Member
 
lilyth88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
I did not rinse my soil, but I did sift it. Simply picking the larger bits won't get everything out.
lilyth88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:15 PM   #3 
CrazyDiamond
Member
 
CrazyDiamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NC
My soil was 98 cents a bag and full of crap, I would recommend sifting it lol I had chunks of mulch, plant roots, rocks . . . some stuff that remains unidentifiable o.O but it's worked fine for me so far. I use it in my grow out tank, so no fish in that one ^^
CrazyDiamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 01:56 AM   #4 
Sea Dragon
Member
 
Sea Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Livermore, California
Clown puke gravel is a huge pet peeve of mine xD Glad you're converting!

I sifted my soil, but I didn't rinse it. If you cap properly and pour in the water super carefully, there shouldn't be much use in rinsing (I imagine it would be a pain in the butt to do so anyway lol)
Sea Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 12:42 PM   #5 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
Thanks.
What is the best method for sifting it?
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 02:49 PM   #6 
tekkguy
Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aemaki09 View Post
Thanks.
What is the best method for sifting it?
A regular kitchen strainer - the plastic ones. The smaller the holes, the better. It's the larger stuff that floats. Get one at the dollar store, and keep it for dirt in case you ever decide to do another.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 02:53 PM   #7 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
Thanks!
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 03:26 PM   #8 
OrangeAugust
Member
 
OrangeAugust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Connecticut
If you have a sand cap you won't need to sift your soil because sand on top prevents anything from floating.
I just dumped my soil in and then put the washed sand on top of it.
OrangeAugust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 03:41 PM   #9 
tekkguy
Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeAugust View Post
If you have a sand cap you won't need to sift your soil because sand on top prevents anything from floating.
I just dumped my soil in and then put the washed sand on top of it.
The larger organic pieces that you don't sift out will rot, and cause issues later. They should be sifted to get the soil as clean as possible.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 03:57 PM   #10 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
I just need to rant about this sand rinsing! It's such a pain! I've got 1/3 of a 5 gallon bucket filled with sand, then got the hose out and have been using the nozzle on full blast to get everything stirred up, then pouring it out and doing it again. I've literally rinsed this stuff like 15 times and it still doesn't look clear enough. Giving up for today.

Hopefully tomorrow I can get the rinsing finnished, then can start on the soil.

I knew it was going to be a lot of work, but I didn't think it'd be this bad! Had I known, I probably would have just spent the money and went with one of the other plant substrates.
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Switch to Pellets Signature Farms Betta Fish Care 14 12-14-2012 10:26 PM
How to Switch to Different Food Alicat22 Betta Fish Care 9 05-19-2012 03:46 PM
Switch! baylee767 Betta Fish Care 1 04-30-2011 10:49 PM
Okay, I'm going to switch to Walmart JKfish Betta Chat 20 06-14-2010 10:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.