Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2013, 02:44 PM   #1 
bannlow2471
Member
 
bannlow2471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Water test results

Ok, I have a confession to make ... I've had Murray, my male veil tail, for five months or so now, and in that time, I have never done a water test. The reason? Simply put, up until recently, I didn't know I needed to. As I've mentioned in previous posts ... I'm a fish and Betta neophyte, and I'm doing my best to learn all I can. When I first got Murray, an unexpected gift from a co-worker, I had to learn quickly, and I relied upon a former colleague, our office receptionist who had previously worked in a pet store and worked in the aquatics department, to tell me what I needed to do. I was told that I didn't need a heater (actually she was right on this, as our climate controlled building helps to keep the tank at about 78 without it), didn't need a filter, and didn't need anything in the way of water care besides treating/conditioning the water with something like Betta safe and doing weekly water changes. After reading all the posts here devoted to water testing, water parameters, and such, I quickly realized that I had made a big mistake in trusting this advice, but was frankly too embarrassed to admit to it. In any case, I've made a couple trips to the store for various things and keep forgetting to purchase a test kit, which I finally did today. I haven't tested the baby's water yet, but I did test Murray's, and here are my results:

Ammonia: 0 ppm

Nitrite: 0 ppm

Nitrate: 0 ppm

pH: Based on my test kit chart (API Freshwater Master test kit) it looks to be between 7.2 and 7.6

High Range pH: 7.4

So ... how do these look? I know ammonia is supposed to be 0 ppm but I'm not really sure what the rest of these are supposed to read. Feedback appreciated. Thank you!
bannlow2471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:51 PM   #2 
Fishy Mom
Member
 
Fishy Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
How big is the tank? Do you have a filter?
Fishy Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:51 PM   #3 
tekkguy
Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Couldn't be better. Do you have live plants in the tank, or did you just recently do a water change? I'd expect to see SOME Nitrates, unless one of those two things is the case.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:58 PM   #4 
bannlow2471
Member
 
bannlow2471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fishy Mom, the tank is four gallon filtered with live plants. I use Betta Safe OR API Stress Coat and API Quick Start when doing water changes.
bannlow2471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:00 PM   #5 
bannlow2471
Member
 
bannlow2471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Tekkguy, that is great to hear. I do have live plants (a few different kinds) and I did just do a 50% water change yesterday. So I should just keep doing what I'm doing then?
bannlow2471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:05 PM   #6 
tekkguy
Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Yup. The filter and the plants will take care of everything for you, for the most part. You want all three numbers to be as close to 0 as possible, though some nitrates are fine. Actually, having a few nitrates will make sure you don't end up with certain types of really nasty algae, but having 0 is perfectly fine.

Most of my planted tanks have always stayed at 0 all across the board.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:10 PM   #7 
bannlow2471
Member
 
bannlow2471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thanks very much. What about the pH numbers?
bannlow2471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:12 PM   #8 
Fishy Mom
Member
 
Fishy Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
How long has the tank been set up? If it's been up & running for a month or longer you should be good.

Sorry for the short, sporadic responses. I'm doing a couple different things atm.
Fishy Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:39 PM   #9 
bannlow2471
Member
 
bannlow2471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
This tank has been up and running about a month. I didn't cycle it before adding the fish but I used substrate from the previous tank as well as a couple plants. I also used API Quick Start when I set it up. Thanks for the input.
bannlow2471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:33 PM   #10 
Fishy Mom
Member
 
Fishy Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bannlow2471 View Post
This tank has been up and running about a month. I didn't cycle it before adding the fish but I used substrate from the previous tank as well as a couple plants. I also used API Quick Start when I set it up. Thanks for the input.
Well, you're all set & you're test result are perfect. Sounds like you did a great job researching & upgrading everything.
Fishy Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water test results nacho Betta Fish Care 12 05-22-2010 05:57 PM
Water test results. How bad? 3bangdoos Betta Fish Care 5 07-06-2009 11:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.