Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-30-2013, 02:37 PM   #1 
meadowlarque

New Fish from Walmart - Ill or No?

Hi everyone,

First time posting here. I just picked up a Crowntail Betta fish after seeing him pace angrily in his little cup at Walmart, and before I put him in his 5.5 gallon tank (he's in a 1 gallon bowl at the moment) I want to make sure I don't have to treat him for anything first. His fins look tattered and curled, and I can't tell if his body markings are due to genetics or illness... He's active, interested in just about everything, and hungry, so I wouldn't say he "acts" sick in any way.

I'm very new to Betta ownership, though I've been reading/learning a lot here in the past few weeks as I have gotten to know my first little guy, Duke (who is under his bubble nest staring at me as I type this). But as he is an entirely different color I haven't been able to effectively judge by comparison, only that his fins don't appear anywhere near as disheveled.

I hope these pictures are useful, but I would really appreciate if anyone with a little more experience could give him a quick look and see if anything jumps out that I should worry about. (I haven't done the survey questions as he was like this when I got him)

Thanks in advance,
Patricia
Attached Images

meadowlarque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 02:45 PM   #2 
SamJustice

He looks fine to me, IMO CTs always seems to have that tattered fin look, and when he's not flaring, the dorsal (i think thats the one) will always kind of fall over him and look kinda curled.
I see no markings on him, maybe my screen sucks (sitting outside). He looks like a happy boy to me, but quarantining for a bit is always recommended. But so long as he won't be sharing his tank with any other living creatures, it should be okay to acclimate him to his new home.