Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-01-2013, 09:18 PM   #1 
SnowyKatt

Unhappy Male Betta Fish Depressed

Hi, I'm new to this thread and I'm at a complete loss with my daughter's male betta fish named Phoenix.

Phoenix was purchased and brought into my home 11 months ago due to Mr. Cloud (previous betta fish) jumping down the sink hole and into the fishy pond below, Phoenix's birthday is April 16th, 2012 when we bought him 10 days after Mr. Cloud left us before the Easter weekend (tragic loss).

Phoenix has taken a toll for the worst, I have never in the entire year have ever encountered something such as this, I've bought a betta fish emergency kit with every kind of medication one can think of, many kinds of freeze dried food (don't want parasites and diseases and god knows what else), along with toys, hammocks and bigger homes too.

Phoenix resides in a 3 gallon aquarium with a filter, heater and lots of room to play and he is even beside his friend Rainbow (my new purchased betta fish who is also a male but lives in a separate aquarium).

I'm terribly concerned for Phoenix, he is severely depressed, my daughter decided to tell me this past weekend that he stopped eating from 3 1/2 weeks ago... I'm running out of ideas on what to do with him, I have done several water changes (70%) and I have used Epsom salt and different kinds of medications to help get rid of any parasites or bacteria that are on the minor list to the severe list... he has shown NO signs of improvement.