Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2013, 10:15 PM   #1 
Julio1983
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
"Stability" by Seachem

Hi all,

I went to my local aquarium today to get a new thermometre (heater or thermometre is on the blink - trying to figure out which one is not functioning)

And he recommended i purchase "stability" because my tank will not have any good bacteria. He also said i change the water too often.
Hes in a 15 litre tank - water changes are 100% on tuesdays and 50% on fridays.

Here is a link to the product:
http://www.seachem.com/Products/prod...Stability.html

Thanks :) :)
Julio1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:20 PM   #2 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Do you have a filter and are you trying to cycle the tank. If you are you are chaning the water too much. If you sent there would be no need for beneficial bacteria. Also there is mixed reviews on "bacteria in a bottle.". I hear that Dr. Tims one and only is the best and tetra safestart is good tol

Last edited by kyle89; 04-03-2013 at 10:22 PM.
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:22 PM   #3 
Julio1983
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
no i dont have a filter...
so confused right now!
Julio1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:25 PM   #4 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
While I really like the product and I do believe it helps, you do not need it as you don't have a filter and thus can not cycle.
MattsBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:25 PM   #5 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Than ignore the guy. You don't need bacteria and your water changes are good.
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:47 PM   #6 
Julio1983
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Ok so you should only have bacteria if there is a filter?
Ps one of their fishys was gasping on its back, I told him and he didn't seem to care :(
Julio1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:55 PM   #7 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
A filter is for cycling a tank. The filter media is where beneficial bacteria grows. Bb converts harmful ammonia to harmful nitrites to safe nitrates and keeps water changes down. Unfortunately most big box store employees don't care about the fish :(
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:19 PM   #8 
Julio1983
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Ok so (sorry for my ignorance!), how come I don't need bacteria in my tank?
Julio1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:21 PM   #9 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
You will probably have some beneficial bacteria but it is not needed since your tank is not cycled
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:37 PM   #10 
Julio1983
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Thanks!
Well that was a waste of $12 wasn't it?! Haha
Julio1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seachem Stability? coet Betta Fish Care 3 08-13-2011 12:05 PM
Does anybody know where I can get Stability by Seachem? Blaze54 Betta Fish Care 7 05-13-2011 02:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.