Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2013, 09:06 PM   #1 
Esahc
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Does ammonia affect PH?

I just got my test kit today, and decided to test Altair's water, since I've never done it and I'm planning on setting up his new tank tomorrow. But when I tested the pH of the water, it ended up being around 8.2 (when the normal test came out blue, I decided to try the high-range test.) I tested some unconditioned tap water, to make sure that it wasn't just my water, and that came out somewhere between 7.2 and 7.6. So I tested the ammonia, and it came out to .5 ppm

I'm wondering, is it the ammonia causing the high PH? and if it is, do I need to change the water right away or can it wait until I get the new tank set up tomorrow? (he doesn't seem distressed or sick, just mildly annoyed at the new plants taking up waaaay too much room in his little tank.)

If it's not the ammonia causing the high PH, could it be caused by too many plants? there's quite a few floating and tied to a decoration waiting for the new tank.
Esahc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 09:18 PM   #2 
fish keeper 2013
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esahc View Post
I just got my test kit today, and decided to test Altair's water, since I've never done it and I'm planning on setting up his new tank tomorrow. But when I tested the pH of the water, it ended up being around 8.2 (when the normal test came out blue, I decided to try the high-range test.) I tested some unconditioned tap water, to make sure that it wasn't just my water, and that came out somewhere between 7.2 and 7.6. So I tested the ammonia, and it came out to .5 ppm

I'm wondering, is it the ammonia causing the high PH? and if it is, do I need to change the water right away or can it wait until I get the new tank set up tomorrow? (he doesn't seem distressed or sick, just mildly annoyed at the new plants taking up waaaay too much room in his little tank.)

If it's not the ammonia causing the high PH, could it be caused by too many plants? there's quite a few floating and tied to a decoration waiting for the new tank.
Ammonia can't cause high Ph, and neither can plants. I would be more concerned about the ammonia. Try to keep it down as low as you can via water changes. Your high Ph might be caused by your gravel. I remember my Ph was around 7.6, then I added a bag of gravel and it shot up to 8.2.

Wait, on second thought since your moving him to a new tank tommorow doing a water change is not essential, but if you can you should.
fish keeper 2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 09:26 PM   #3 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Gravle is known to cause height pH. Rinse the gravel and decorations very good when setting up the new tank. Also don't use a chemical to adjust the pH. Its better to have a stable pH than right.
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 09:29 PM   #4 
Esahc
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I haven't recently changed his gravel, but I have added a new decoration to weight the plants (he only had the one rather sad silk plant before) and a new thermometer, could that be causing it? both were rinsed thoroughly before they went in his tank.

I have enough conditioned water left from his last 50% change on monday to do maybe a 25% water change tonight? I wouldn't object to doing a 100% change, but it seems like overkill since he'll essentially be getting a 100% change tomorrow.

Last edited by Esahc; 04-04-2013 at 09:30 PM. Reason: typo
Esahc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 09:34 PM   #5 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
I would do a small change to lower the ammonia till tomorrow. Most colored gravel is know and states it will affect pH on the package. If you haven't been checking the pH before it is possible this has been the pH the entire time

Last edited by kyle89; 04-04-2013 at 09:37 PM.
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 09:50 PM   #6 
Esahc
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Okay, I did a ~25% water change, and some research on the type of gravel I used when I first set up the tank; apparently TopFin will sometimes alter PH, so I'm guessing you're probably right in that that's what's making the PH so high. It was 'natural' colored, so I guess I didn't realize it was painted. hopefully the gravel for the new tank won't be quite so alkaline...
Esahc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 09:53 PM   #7 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
I believe top fin brand would. I try to stay away from anything top fin. I has a heater that failed the first day and know there food isn't good for bettas either.
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:00 PM   #8 
Esahc
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I don't normally trust store brands but I was already buying a tank and a fish and some plants and- yeah...
I'm ashamed to say I might have seen the price tag and snatched the cheapest thing...
Though now that I think about it, petsmart really only sells topfin gravel don't they?
anyway, that's for y'all's help!
Esahc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:02 PM   #9 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
I have only seen top fin at petsmart so I assume its there in house brand
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:06 PM   #10 
Esahc
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
it's definately their inhouse brand
on their website I think they label most of their topfin stuff as 'petsmart exclusive'
Esahc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My rescues may not affect everyone... Sena Hansler Betta Chat 34 05-13-2012 11:10 AM
Would the Earthquake affect anything? Luimeril Breeding Betta Fish 4 03-11-2011 06:32 PM
um...will this affect him? missfish1996 Betta Fish Care 3 03-18-2008 04:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.