Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-11-2013, 11:12 AM   #1 
antonrodra

Just bought a betta :(

I just bought a betta delta, I believe, yesterday. It seemed fine but when I woke up this morning it was largely lethargic and almost floating to its side. It'll get bursts of energy but then sink to the bottom as if it's on its last breath. There is also a weird cottony white substance coming from off it's body.

I decontaminated the water**

help!!! I am a complete newbie. :(((
antonrodra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:15 AM   #2 
shellieca
Reference Team

Welcome. OK a couple of questions first . . . How big is the tank he's currently in? What water conditioner did you use? Is the tank heated? What's the temp? Is the tank filtered? Can you post a pic?
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:27 AM   #3 
antonrodra

Maybe like .5 gallon....API stress and coat......not heated...room temperature.....no filter.....
Old 04-11-2013, 11:30 AM   #4 
Elliriyanna

Bettas need heated filtered water sounds like a fungus.
Elliriyanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:33 AM   #5 
DamanDhillon

get a heater and treat him with a fungus medication.

for that size, the Marina mini heater should be perfect and very inexpensive.

you should begin his treatment asap! I think you might have bought him while he was just starting to get sick and progressed over night.
DamanDhillon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:38 AM   #6 
shellieca
Reference Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonrodra View Post
Maybe like .5 gallon....API stress and coat......not heated...room temperature.....no filter.....