Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-13-2013, 12:45 AM   #1 
fishnewbie1419

Please help! I don't want him to die!

I've had my betta, Chief, for almost one month exactly. When I first got him, his fins were gorgeous and spread out. Over the past week or so, I've noticed that his fins look "clamped." He is still very active and swims around a lot. He also loves to eat and gobbles up his food every morning as soon as I put it in the tank. It's really just his fins that are concerning me.

Tank size - He is in a 2.5 gallon tank. I would love to get him a 5 gallon, but I'm a student with limited space. He has two silk plants, a hiding place, and some live moss.

Heater - I have a heater, but last year when I tried it for my last betta, the water went up to almost 90 degrees, so I took it out. That was also a 1 gallon tank (before I learned that that was a bad idea), so maybe it was only because the tank was so small that it got so hot? Should I put the heater back in? It's an Aqueon Mini Heater 10W that says it's ideal for tanks up to 5 gallons. I also have a thermometer that usually reads around 75 (it's warming up down here in GA though, so it has been a little cooler in his tank).

Filter - I also have a filter, which I just put in his tank for the first time tonight after changing his water and conditioning it. It's the filter that comes with the Aqueon MiniBow 2.5 tank that he's in right now. However, the current just kept pushing him around when he swam to the stop. So I turned it off for the night. Should I leave it on? Will he get used to the current?