Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-13-2013, 12:34 PM   #1 
obxfiction

Tail Perfect Last Night, Shredded Today

A few weeks ago, my blue veiltail male, Azure, had finrot. I treated him with Maracyn 2, and he got better. His ammonia and nitrate levels are perfect, and his fins looked beautiful last night. Today, they're badly shredded. He has 2 new Otocynclus Catfish as tankmates, along with one we've had for several weeks. Nothing I read indicates the cats would be eating his fins. What could it be??? He seems fine otherwise. Any help would be appreciated.
obxfiction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 02:03 PM   #2 
marquettefan

Hmm. I'm not an expert with bettas or the catfish, but I'd guess that he was either biting his fins or they were caught on something in the tank. However, without any more information, (pictures are awesome) it's hard to make a further guess. Hopefully some other members can help.

Hope he gets better!
marquettefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 02:12 PM   #3 
obxfiction

This is the end of his tail. He was hiding under his bridge. Nothing is different in his tank as far as decorations, but he has 2 new Otocinclus Catfish. They've been in his tank for 2 nights. He doesn't seem to mind them, and they don't seem to care about him, either. They're both tiny...about a half inch long. Could they be doing this while he sleeps? It seems odd that his tail became so ribbony and shredded overnight.
Attached Images

Old 04-13-2013, 02:19 PM   #4 
Naladari

You sure he's not biting or his fins could be getting caught on something?
Naladari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 02:30 PM   #5 
Stone