Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2013, 08:41 PM   #1 
paris38
Member
 
paris38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Help!

Hey everyone!It's been a while since I've been on here.Anyway a few monthes ago I set up a NPT with orgainic soil and a sand cap.It did fine for a while but then all the plants started melting and turned into a bunch of brown mush.I had Camboba(sp),anubias,vallisenera,java fern,and some banna plants I also had a few others but they never really grew.Anyway I was wondering if you guys might have an idea what could've gone wrong.I'm willing to try again with live plants but I didn't much care for the dirt as it got all over the top of the sand so I couldn't really even see it.Is there any plants that could do with out dirt?Thanks!
ps. the lighting was a 6500k bulb.
paris38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:52 PM   #2 
ao
TFK Moderator
 
ao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
All plants can do without dirt... your tank probably didnt have enough plants in it to take care of the nutrients in the soil :(
ao is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:03 PM   #3 
WolfHhowling
Member
 
WolfHhowling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Carrolltown Pa In good old cambria county
Gravel, is good. You can keep, Ruffled sword, hornwort, water sprite, and I am sure a few others. Make sure you have a good light, they like some light lol.

water changes are also good for planted tanks too. It sounds like there was to much of a good thing going on. To much will cause plants to melt. To little will too.
WolfHhowling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:14 PM   #4 
VJM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
How close is your bulb to the substrate? Where did you get the plants from?
VJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:07 PM   #5 
paris38
Member
 
paris38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
My light was just sitting on the lid at the top of the tank.I think akoshi might be right about not having enough plants.I got them at an online site and they came in pretty good condition.Oh well, like I said I'm willing to give it another go:)Thanks for the help!
paris38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 02:06 PM   #6 
OrangeAugust
Member
 
OrangeAugust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Connecticut
What size is your tank? A lot of plants require at least 2 watts per gallon, so it doesn't matter the K rating if you don't have high enough wattage.
OrangeAugust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 10:41 PM   #7 
paris38
Member
 
paris38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
The tank is about thirty gallons.I'm not sure on wattage I think it was one of those Zoomed "daylight" bulbs.
paris38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.