Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-14-2013, 10:23 PM   #1 
ItGetsBetta

Unhappy My betta is the world's biggest bully

I am new to this thread so hopefully this has not been posted already and sorry if it has!

I have an orange veiltale betta and I recently upgraded his tank from a 1 gal with an 8 watt heater to a 3 gal with heater, filtration, air stone (complete with tacky led lights but w/e) after finding out that a 1 gal is too small for my betta and that I could treat him way better.

Well after excitedly setting up my new tank I got the bright idea in a little local petshop to buy him some friends spur of the moment. I asked the petshop owners what would suit me and they said 2 neon tetra's (I later read 2 is not a good number).

My betta (Pho his name is) has since turned into quite the psychopath. At first he was relentlessly chasing the poor neon tetras so much and attacking his bubbles that I almost took the tetras back straight away. He cannot catch the tetra's tho and is eating normally and to be honest looks like he's having the time of his life chasing these poor fish. No flaring just pursuing them and again I should have known this was probably a bad idea because of my fish's attitude. No matter how much I interact with him he always would flare his bloody gills at me and chase my finger and even learned to jump and eat from my finger :S

It has only been a few hours but has anyone else tried housing betta's and tetra's together? Everything I read online is about tetra's bullying betta's!

Will it get betta?
ItGetsBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:30 PM   #2 
MattsBettas
Reference Team

Neon tetras are fairly good tankmates with (docile) bettas, but since your betta is obviously not docile, well, you get it. I would return the tetras. In a 3 gal there is no room for other fish, and you need more then two anyways.