Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-12-2008, 10:32 AM   #1 
twoshihpoos

Question about filter for my *future* betta

Hello everyone!

This is my first post - I'm new to all of this so please bear with me.

I would like to start a small aquarium and get a betta fish. I didn't want to jump into it without research first to make sure it's really something I want and can do... so, so far I have only purchased a small tank decoration to look at and keep me happy as I continue my research - LOL.

I have decided to get either a 10 or 20 gallon tank (probably a 10 to start with) and am looking at the Penguin Bio Wheel.

I know that this wheel hangs over the outside of the tank...... but, does that mean that it is only compatible with certain hoods? When I think of a hood, it's the standard black hood with a light so I can't imagine where this filter would fit and still have the hood on!

A silly question, I'm sure.. thanks to anyone who can explain this :)
twoshihpoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 11:10 AM   #2 
ErinBBC

I bought a 5 gallon tank that came with a Bio Wheel and I wasn't able to use it...it created too much current for my betta and he was always struggling - they prefer calm water with little to no movement. Also the hood mounted set up mine came with didn't leave enough surface area at the top of the tank, which bettas require because they have an organ that always them to gulp oxygen from the surface air.

However, a ten gallon tank might be different. Since all bettas have their own tolerances, you may have to try a couple of filters until you get one you like a lot.
ErinBBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:23 PM   #3 
Ariel