Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-16-2013, 04:18 PM   #1 
Pauline

Newbie. Help please!

Ok. Mea culpa. Please don't flame me. Today i bought a Betta toatally on impulse. I'm really new to fish-keeping and I have a 23L nano tank with 6 cardinal tetras and 2 male guppies. Today i visited a local aquarium shop that was recommened to me by another fishkeeper. They were selling Bettas in what I can only describe as flower vases, with some gravel in the bottom and a scrap of plant. They had one in a tank too, and this one seemed more lively. I questioned if they could live happily like this, and was told that, because their natural habitat is muddy puddles, they're perfectly happy like this, and don't need much room to move about. They also said that, as Bettas are surface breathers, they don't need a pump, and that they don't need a heater as long as I don't let them go below 18C.

I didn't really buy this, but I did buy a fish! I had a 'goldfish bowl' shaped vase at home which I figured woud at least give him a bit more swimming room. Anyway, I got him home and set him up in his new home. He seemed happy at first, but was soon just 'hanging' among the plants. I was worried he was too cold, so i moved him into my tropical tank with my other fish. He seems happier (more lively) there, but I've now been reading that the presence of other fish stresses them.

HELP PLEASE! I KNOW I shouldn't have bought him on impulse, but I did. And now I want to do the best for him. So please could any experienced Betta keepers out there give me some advice about whether he'll be better off in a bowl by himself with no pump and heater or in the aquarium with pump and heater but with other fish. THANK YOU!
Pauline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 04:33 PM   #2 
JellOh