Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-17-2013, 04:01 PM   #1 
Lonely Dragon

Freeze Dried vs Frozen?

I was at Petsmart today (what a trip) and I saw this betta "treat"...thing. It was called "Betta Dial-a-Treat" and it had freeze dried mysis, daphnia, and bloodworms in it.

I've heard that freeze dried food is bad for bettas, but I don't know if it's true or not. Is it just when you feed them too much? What do you guys think of freeze dried food? Is frozen better?

(By the way, what exactly is mysis and daphnia...?)
Lonely Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 05:29 PM   #2 
RackinRocky

I'm fairly new at this myself (only had tanks for two years) but I feed a wide variety of frozen foods. The only freeze dried food I use is Tubifex worms. And with them, I soak them for a short time before feeding.

For frozen I feed:
Brine Shrimp
Mysis Shrimp
Bloodworms
Krill
Emerald Entree
Spirulina Brine Shrimp
Reef Caviar
Beef Heart

Freeze Dried:
Tubifex worms

Flakes and pellets:
Shrimp pellets
Omega One veggie flakes
NLS Betta pellets
NLS Cichlid pellets
Algae wafers

Then for my cories, shrimp, Kuhlis and Otos:
Crab cuisine
Shrimp cuisine

I believe variety in the diet is just as important for fish as it is for humans. I have 16 different kinds of fish food!

I don't know anything about the Betta Dial-A-Treat, but I would stay away from lots of freeze dried foods. Betta are susceptible to swim bladder problems and constipation, and unless freeze dried are well soaked, they can be troublesome to some. With this in mind, I only use the freeze dried Tubifex (soaked).

Mysis are a type of shrimp, and most fish adore them. Some like Daphnia, some don't. Most fish will go crazy for bloodworms.