Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-18-2013, 11:02 AM   #1 
crystalicethorn

A couple of questions.

Since I'm still quite new to the hobby I just want to ask some general questions.

1. Food
I have some very picky bettas. One in particular will only eat flakes. I know they are bad for him but he will not except pellets and the only other food he eats are the frozen blood worms he gets once a week, and the occasional chunk of beef.
I dont want to starve him but i feel bad feeding him flakes. So i was wondering if they really are as bad as people say they are, and maybe give me ideas to change his diet.

2. Stress
One of my females always gets stress stripes whenever i enter the room or come close the the fish tank. It this normal for shy females? It has gotten less but I'm still worried, but she is eating and doing well otherwise.

3. Snails
Not really about the betta itself but what i want to put in their tank. I have a 1 gallon fish bowl where i dump in all my unwanted snails because I'm worried they will over populate the tank. I just wanted to know if i put single snails in a tank will they reproduce asexually? Or will they be fine, there is also no chance of extra food on the floor knowing my greedy fish.
I have;
1 Bladder snail
4 Pond Snails
1 fresh water limpet
3 Ramshorn Snails

4. Plastic plants being eaten away.
One of the only plastic plants in my tank, is attached to a fake rock hiding spot and i dont want to remove it. The funny thing is, that the leaves of the fake plant are being nibbled away and i dont know why. I tried to find a snail which may have gotten a little confused but i didnt find anything when i cleaned my tank. Any ideas what it could be?

Every little bit of info helps!
crystalicethorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 01:42 PM   #2 
waterdog

Quote:
Originally Posted by crystalicethorn View Post