Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-18-2013, 10:08 PM   #1 
lololomay

Unhappy Fluval Chi Filter Help

Hello all,

I just got a new betta, Sligo, and I have him in my Fluval Chi tank. I owned a betta previously who seemed to be okay with the filter flow, but Sligo seems to be really stressed out by how strong it is.

I had the filter out of the tank for a while, and he seemed to be doing better, but then I put it back in two days ago, and he is looking discolored and a bit shredded, so I shut it off.

I read through the "baffling" filter guide, but I don't really understand what to do, because the fluval chi filter cube looks different to me than most other filters. I'm really a novice with this, but I'm trying to do the right things for Sligo, so I would really appreciate any suggestions/help on how to dampen the filter and make it less stressful for him.

sligo2.pdf
lololomay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:48 PM   #2 
Jodah

I personally think those Chi filters are garbage. They do look nice, but if it were me, I'd yank it and get a nice little azoo palm filter, or the deep blue nano filter.

Course, that means you'd have to get a clip on light for it as well. hmm...

Perhaps getting some cut-to-fit filter media and cutting your own filters to try and restrict the flow that way?
Jodah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 11:46 PM   #3 
MattsBettas
Reference Team

I actually don't mind the filter... The flow isn't very strong either. I have to disagree with Jodah, you spent 80$ on the tank and your not going to go toss the equipment that comes with it... It looks great, I have one, just stay on top of water changes. What about adding floating plants or even attaching a piece of craft mesh
( https://www.google.ca/search?q=craft...Lcv-g6ApM6M%3A ) to the bottom to disrupt the flow?