Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-21-2013, 09:43 PM   #1 
SageMyster

Sorority Help!

Hello folks. I am completely new to betta sororities. I filled a 10 gallon with six females on Friday and had to remove two for being incredibly too aggressive, and returned them to the store. Now I have a new-NEW one sitting in a breeder keeper thing to acclimate her to the tank, who I refer to as "white crowntail" in the video.

Yes, there's a video. Please, please watch it. You can see all of the girlies' injuries in the video.

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1QJ3...ature=youtu.be

So I don't know if this is normal or what... or how to heal the blue girl. ): Do I take her out entirely? So lost as to what to do! Please help!

Any advice would be appreciated.
SageMyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 09:56 PM   #2 
bniebetta

Did you quarantine all of them for a long time and let them see each other before adding them to the tank?
bniebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 10:01 PM   #3 
SageMyster

I don't know what a long time would be but yes I did quarantine them and had them floating in see-through cups before I released them all at once, least aggressive to most aggressive. Emilia, however, was already in the tank prior to the new girls' addition, which is why I'm thinking she's taken up the role as alpha... even though I've never seen her bite anyone.
Old 04-21-2013, 10:02 PM   #4 
bniebetta

about two weeks. and holy crap what a mess :/
bniebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 10:04 PM   #5 
SageMyster

Also I guess it doesn't show in the video but "Blue" has white extending into her fins.
Old 04-21-2013, 10:14 PM   #6 
LittleBettaFish

Their fin damage isn't actually too horrific. I was expecting much worse.