Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-07-2008, 08:33 PM   #1 
studioskim3

neutering bettas... ?

I have a 14 gal tank that consists of a single male betta... I think he is bored and lonely. I would like to get him a friend or two... at first I wanted to make him a pimp and give him a few girlie bettas... haha... but of course... the problem with that is there is a possiblity of mating... which I do not want. I'm a newbie so I do not want hundreds of bettas ( I do, I do, I do.... but I can't, I can't, I can't). Then I talked to ppl and they suggested corydoras catfish, albino **** catfish, etc catfish (to help w/ the algae) but the thing is, I only know how to take care of bettas.. I can't get anymore complicated cuz I dunno these fishees...

I still want to get female bettas for my Firefly... but I'm afraid he is gonna impregnate all of them, hahaha... I want to save those girlie bettas from evil petco... but I dunno if I can keep them. Is there a way to prevent them from mating? I know this is farfetched as we should allow nature do its thing... but... I would like to have some control over the population... esp when I know there are plenty of others bettas who are in dire need of a loving home...
studioskim3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 09:08 PM   #2 
aquakid

no i would never reccommend putting more than one betta in a tank without expert knowledge of bettas or separators
aquakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 10:00 PM   #3 
lharpster

How about some Ghost Shrimp? I recently bought 2 for my fish. One has died, but the other is doing very well.
lharpster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 10:24 PM   #4 
tmz

lol @ intense invasive surgery on little fish XD

sorry. its jsut when i read neutering all i could thinkof was liek the surgery used on dogs. and it made me giggle thinking of that same surgery on a fish.