Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-24-2013, 11:13 PM   #1 
boopsie

Wanting to start a NPT, have some questions

Yesterday my first ever betta fish died. I enjoyed him so much I'd like to get another. Since I don't know what caused my little fella's death I thought it better to be safe than sorry and I washed everything I wasn't going to pitch with a 10% bleach and water mix so my next fish won't get sick.
So I'm basically starting from scratch again, and I'm thinking I'd like to do a natural planted tank this time. I'm studying the sticky and getting a list of materials together, and I've got some questions...

1. I have a 5 gallon tank. How many plants will I need? And what sort of plants would you recommend that I could maybe get at Petco or Petsmart? (I don't know where else to go near me)
2. What sort of shrimp and snails do I need, and how many of each?
3. Is sand the only cap that will work, or would regular gravel or pebbles be okay? I like the way pebbles or gravel looks, but it's not a big deal. Just wondering.
4. is this an appropriate light bulb? - http://www.petco.com/product/111943/...cent-Bulb.aspx
5. Once the tank is mature, do I need to keep running my filter?

Any extra advice and information greatly appreciated. Thanks!
boopsie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 12:45 AM   #2 
Mashiro

I, for one, can say that bulb has been working wonders on my plants in all 3 of my tanks.

I use 2 of them in my 10 gallon, 1 in my 5 gallon, and 1 in my 2.5 gallon. Plants thrive.

*EDIT*

Also, I am sorry for the loss of your betta.

Last edited by Mashiro; 04-25-2013 at 01:05 AM.
Mashiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 02:26 AM   #3 
redchigh

Gravel works fine. I wouldn't go with pebbles unless they're on top of something else for decoration.