Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-25-2013, 07:00 PM   #1 
slug61

Prime + StressCoat+

Can you put StressCoat+ in the tank if you have already put Prime in it?
My fish has 2 tears and I did a water change today with Prime (didn't have the StressCoat+ yet)
So, is it OK to use both at the same time...or do I wait till next water change?
slug61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:06 PM   #2 
lotusflwr

I use both together all the time without any problems. In fact, I use Stress Coat very liberally when my betta has fin tears. He swims up to the top and I squirt it right over him. I am pretty sure it is mostly aloe... I've been using it for 10+ years and unless you dumped a whole bottle into a very small tank, I can't think of a way to OD a fish on it.

Prime's directions state you can dose up to 5 times the normal amount if necessary, so even if Stress Coat uses similar ingredients for neutralizing the chlorine and chloramines, it should be fine.
lotusflwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:15 AM   #3 
slug61

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotusflwr View Post
I use both together all the time without any problems. In fact, I use Stress Coat very liberally when my betta has fin tears. He swims up to the top and I squirt it right over him. I am pretty sure it is mostly aloe... I've been using it for 10+ years and unless you dumped a whole bottle into a very small tank, I can't think of a way to OD a fish on it.

Prime's directions state you can dose up to 5 times the normal amount if necessary, so even if Stress Coat uses similar ingredients for neutralizing the chlorine and chloramines, it should be fine.
I have a charcoal filter. Does that matter at all? Will the aloe in the StressCoat clog up the filter pad??
Old 04-26-2013, 10:18 AM   #4 
lotusflwr