Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-27-2013, 08:25 PM   #1 
bettacrazygirl86

Not getting any better and about to give up

I'm posting about my sister's ill fish, Autumn, again. He hasn't gotten any better since the last time I posted about him. He has fin rot, which has rotted away almost his entire caudual fin and dorsal fin, as well as his ventrals. His anal fin hasn't been touched, it seems. I have noticed new fin growth on his dorsal fin, but his caudal fin has made no progress. I've been treating him for over about 2 months now, I believe. I'm not sure what else I can do to help him, and my sister has been asking to have him back in her room again. If I can't help him more than I already have, I'm going to give him back to her. She keeps him in a 1 gallon unheated bowl, and doesn't do water changes as often as she should, but I think after this whole ordeal with his fin rot, she might start. If not, I guess she'll learn the hard way. :( I really don't know what else to do for him. The only medicines I have on hand are AQ salt and Stress Coat.

Housing
What size is your tank? 3 gallons
What temperature is your tank? 78 degrees
Does your tank have a filter? No
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Aqua Culture Betta Pellets
How often do you feed your betta fish? 3 pettels, twice daily

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? Twice weekly
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 100%
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? Aqua Safe + and Stress Coat

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters? No

Ammonia:
Nitrite:
Nitrate:
pH:
Hardness:
Alkalinity: