Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2013, 12:41 AM   #1 
iambeetle
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Wink Easy Fix for Strong Current in Fluval Spec Tanks

I think it is time for me to give back to the community!!

I have found an easy fix for Fluval Spec Tanks' common issue... Strong Current.

There are many ways I saw on the forum including putting plants in front of it, tie a sponge on it, etc. Those are definitely good ways, but I'd like to show how I do it as well, just as another option!

I have found this Elite Mini Replacement Filter Foam. It is quite cheap, I think $3 for 2.




The good thing about it is that it has a small hole in it, as shown below...




Another pick with my finger in it to show where the hole is...




And the filter outlet fit snugly into the hole, here is a pic of how it is. The head is pointing down on purpose.




With that I can actually turn the current to max, and the betta is still very comfortable with it. The current becomes so mild that my betta can feel it only when she wants to!


Finally just a pic of my whole tank setup! I think it still looks quite clean with the current fix!




I hope this helps!! Just wanna give back to the community a bit when I can!
iambeetle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:01 AM   #2 
Mar
Member
 
Mar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
lovEly tank!

I've been having minor issues with my spec filter too, but hopefully with this, I should be good!
And you can turn the filter on max ?? Doesn't that affect the intake as well?
Mar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:39 AM   #3 
Mr2KiEu
Member
 
Mr2KiEu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bay Area, California
Nice mod! I'll have to try that. Where did you buy the sponge from?
Mr2KiEu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:36 AM   #4 
TeteRouge
Member
 
TeteRouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV, US
Well done, elegant fix!
TeteRouge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:16 PM   #5 
iambeetle
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr2KiEu View Post
Nice mod! I'll have to try that. Where did you buy the sponge from?
I saw it in petsmart and petcetera, I live in Canada. But I am sure it is easy to find!
iambeetle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:33 PM   #6 
isochronism
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
Iambeetle, Does your heater fit in the space where the pump goes? That is where I put my heater. I have the same tank.
isochronism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:41 PM   #7 
iambeetle
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by isochronism View Post
Iambeetle, Does your heater fit in the space where the pump goes? That is where I put my heater. I have the same tank.
That's actually something I can't figure out... I bought the C25 heater and tried to fit it in the pump slot. But it can't bring the temperature up to more than 22, which is really too low. I even tried to put the heater to the outside, it is still not good enough.... I had to get an adjustable heater to heat it up to the safe zone...

I think it might be because of the long shape, it's hard to heat it evenly...
iambeetle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:13 PM   #8 
isochronism
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
I use Aqueon 50 that fits and heats enough.
isochronism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:17 PM   #9 
iambeetle
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
I even saw a YouTube review saying a 10 watt is enough... The one I am using seems to work... It is 25 watt from Haydor
iambeetle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:24 PM   #10 
isochronism
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
Actually my tanks are on a windowsill in the North East, so during the coldest temperatures they still stayed constant, this situation is more extreme.
isochronism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
current, fix, fluval spec, tank, tips

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New tank advice = Fluval Flora or Fluval spec V Spike34 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 11 04-27-2013 12:14 AM
Just installed my filter and theres too much current-how to fix? jadaBlu Betta Fish Care 6 03-02-2013 03:05 PM
Filter current quick fix DoubleTail1 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 01-17-2013 02:33 PM
Fluval Chi vs. Aqueon Evolve vs. Fluval SPEC Cargo Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 26 05-29-2012 06:09 PM
Fluval Spec - Filter too strong betaICS Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 04-21-2012 12:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.