Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-28-2013, 02:20 PM   #1 
Madi92

Clamped fin?!?!?!?!? Help!!!!

I was reading more on betta fish and read something on clamped fin. I'm just wondering what it is. Do betta sometimes get it when they come to new homes, and what does it mean, and is it bad or is there a cure. and does my betta look like he has clamped fin? He seems to be happy I adjusted him to the water besetting him first get used to the temp. Then I added little amounts of water. Also he hasn't really been eating but I put tHt on here too and logos of people said not to worry he would be fine just give him time. I've only had him for 2 days and I'm new at this and want my betta to live a long and happy life.
Attached Images

Madi92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 04:44 PM   #2 
iAlexz

As far as I know, clamped fins mean they're either sick or stressed out. My betta did the same thing when I brought him home and now he's just fine. He's eating regularly and he seems happy. Give him a couple more days and if he still wont eat, try switching up the food or upgrading to a bigger tank.

Also, check your water.
iAlexz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 04:50 PM   #3 
jesssan2442

what size is his tank? does he have a heater? is he in a part of your house that has lots of noise or movement? large silk plants or caves will help him feel more safe!!
it does look like he has clamped fins but there isn't a treatment for it... the best thing to do is make him feel safe like I said silk plants and caves he can hide in will make him feel safer!!
jesssan2442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 05:27 PM   #4 
Madi92